New View

New View

For those of you who don’t know, I like bonsai, and earlier this year began to learn how to do it right. They say you’ll kill a lot of trees, so I guess I am learning. In fact, for awhile I stopped posting about bonsai because nearly every tree I wrote a post about – ok, half – ended up dead. The korean hornbeam in this pic, and tomorrow’s, has been pretty steady since a beginner’s workshop in early March, so hopefully it will survive.

The tree’s shape shows just how much a beginner I am, or at least was in March. I don’t feel like I understand the shaping of trees yet. Just look at this one: basic “S” shaped upright “A” frame triangle. A valid style, but highly over done; every beginner does at least one tree that looks like this. I have two. Still, you’ve got to start somewhere. And some the ones that have had years to grow look really great.

I follow a few bonsai blogs [see right sidebar]. Two of these guys, Adam’s Art and Bonsai and eschmidtpabonsai, post fairly regularly and I see more of their trees-in-progress than others. Both of them are fairly aggressive, compared to me, with their trees, especially Sir Adam. I still cringe, but watching what they do has made me somewhat braver.

Back to this vict . . . tree. I just revamped it from what you see here. Having watched posts on the blogs listed above with morbid fascination, looking at some of my trees and being completely at a loss for ideas, knowing I really ought to do something to save my upright S curve A frame trees from mundacity. So I checked out some bonsai blogs, put on some great ’80s rock, looked at my tree, approached this little guy with intent, and suddenly saw something new that I hadn’t seen before.

Voi la! An idea! Action!
Check again tomorrow to see what happened. . . .

2 thoughts on “New View

  1. First let me say thank you for the shout-out about my blog in your post 😄! I myself have killed several trees over the years to get me to my confidence level I am at now. I always remind myself of a saying from the late master John Naka about killing trees is the tuition a bonsai student pays for learning bonsai. Or something along those lines 😁 So keep at it and don’t get discouraged. Thanks again for the mention!

    • OceanKin says:

      Hey, your posts inspire me, so many thanks coming your way.
      Killing trees. Sigh. We all do it, but it’s a little . . . intimidating? boggling? . . . that one of the folks I know here has his very first tree from 50+ years ago! I have one of my earliest – maybe my 5th – so I don’t feel too bad. Thank you for your encouragement!

Leave a Reply

