Why Australia? Why now?

Inquiring minds want to know. . . . So here’s the story of how a Central Valley, CA, woman found herself in Australia:

Jade and I met several years ago at a UC Davis theater production. We became occasional lunch companions, and she ended up being the outside reader for my Ph.D. dissertation. During that time, we developed a strong friendship. Since then, Jade returned to Australia and we’ve been discussing my visit for a couple of years.

A couple months ago I realized that I had a block of time and some airline mileage points. Voi la! Here I am, Down Under and already in-love with the people and the land, wishing I had more time and resources to continue exploring.

I’ve illicited some strange looks by saying “excuse me” as I pass closely by an individual or group. People think I am about to ask a question then wonder why I keep walking. I guess the Aussies don’t worry about that and just walk on through. And who ever heard of a currawong? It’s a large black and white bird that looks similar to the magpie. Currawongs have the most amazing warble sounding like a flutey version of a child’s play at a miniature pipe organ.

G’day, mates.

4 thoughts on “Why Australia? Why now?

  1. Pam says:

    Ah, She’ll be right mate.
    Glad your journey is off to such a great start!
    Just be careful saying you are “stuffed” after a good meal
    ;-)

  2. Chris Stewart says:

    It is interesting observing other cultures, isn’t it. David had some friends visit here from Vienna about a year ago or so. They commented on how nice – but slightly strange – it was to them that waiters and waitresses and restaurant hosts were so friendly. I guess they are not nearly as welcoming and pleasant in Europe. (I was there 30 years ago; I don’t really remember.)

    I am enjoying experiencing a little bit of Australia vicariously through you. Glad you could do this, Morgan!

  3. Generally I do not read post on blogs, however I would like
    to say that this write-up very forced me to try and do so!
    Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, quite great post.

    • OceanKin says:

      Wow! Thank you. It still surprises me to get replies from people I don’t know, and it’s unusual to be complimented on my writing style specifically, rather than content. Your comment made my day especially happy. :]

Leave a Reply

